À la mémoire de mon ami Abiadé Adéwusi

Abiadé Adewusi (Togo)Décédé le samedi 1er juillet 2017, Abiadé Adewusi, président du SARIAC (Togo), joua un rôle clé dans la constitution du groupe africain de la FIM en 1997

Par Roméo Dika, Vice Président de la FIM

Au cours d’un séminaire de l’OMPI organisé à Lomé en 1997, afin de contribuer à la formation de nos organisations nouvelles et inexpérimentées dans de nombreux domaines intéressant notre corporation, Jean Vincent alors, Secrétaire Général de la FIM, nous propose l’adhésion des organisations associatives et syndicales africaines à la FIM.
Lire la suite 

21e congrès de la FIM

21st Congress

Le 21e congrès de la FIM s’est tenu à Reykjavik du 7 au 9 juin 2016, accueilli par notre syndicat membre FIH, dans le superbe centre de congrès Harpa.

Orateurs et panels

Ouvert par un discours chaleureusement applaudi de M. Illugi Gunnarsson, ministre de l’Éducation et de la Culture d’Islande, le congrès s’est poursuivi avec les débats sur les motions (24 motions + 2 motions d’urgence), ainsi que trois panels consacrés respectivement

À la notion de bien-être dans la carrière d’artiste musicien
• Mme Dianne Widdison (BMU, Rotyaume-Uni)
• Mme Christine Thomassen (MFO, Norvège)
• M. Jean-Marc Vogt (DOV, Allemagne)
• M. Kari Árnason (FIH, Islande)

À l’égalité homme-femme au sein des syndicats de musiciens et dans le secteur dans son ensemble
• Mme Déborah Cheyne (SINDMUSI, Brésil)
• M. Daniel Gomes (AMS, Sénégal)
• Mme Silja Fischer (CIM)
• M. Thomas Bjelkerud (SMF, Suède)
Modérateur : Anders Laursen (DMF, Danemark)

Au streaming musical et au problème de l’absence de revenus en ligne pour les musiciens
• Dr Pál Tomori (MZTSZ, Hongrie)
• Mme Geidy Lung, Senior Counsellor, Division du Droit d’auteur de l’OMPI
• M. Marc Slyper (SNAM, France)
• M. Jan Granvik (SMF, Suède)
• M. Horace Trubridge (BMU, Royaume-Uni)
• M. Bruce Fife (AFM, États-Unis)
Modérateur : Beat Santschi (SMV, Suisse)

Les invités suivants nous ont également fait l’honneur et le plaisir de leur participation en tant qu’orateurs :
• Mme Ferne Downey (Canada), présidente de la FIA
• Mme Geidy Lung, Senior Counsellor, Division du Droit d’auteur de l’OMPI
• M. Samuel Shu Masuyama (Japon), CPRA-Geidankyo
• M. David Jandrisch (Canada), Président de MROC
• M. Peter Leathem (Royaume-Uni), Directeur général de PPL
• Mme Silja Fischer (CIM)

Résolutions

Parmi les résolutions adoptées, on relève notamment celles consacrées au droit de mise à disposition à la demande (résolutions 10 à 13) qui s’appuient sur le constat unanime que les artistes interprètes demeurent exclus des revenus générés par la croissance rapide des plateformes de distribution comme Spotify, Deezer ou Apple Music.
Lire la suite 

100e convention de l’AFM

100th AFM Convention

La 100e convention de l’AFM (syndicat des musiciens des États-Unis et du Canada) a eu lieu à Las Vegas (Nevada) du 20 au 25 juin 2016.

Cette convention, introduite le 19 juin par une soirée musicale de haute volée (The Quebe Sisters Band, The Las Vegas Jazz Connection avec Tom Bones Malone, Dan Higgins, Marvin Stamm) en présence de Bennie Thompson (membre du Congrès), a donné la parole à de nombreux orateurs, notamment David White (Directeur exécutif, SAG-AFTRA), Kate Shindle (Présidente, Actors’ Equity), Mike Huppe (Président & DG, SoundExchange), Dan Beck (Music Performance Trust Fund), Dennis Dreith (Directeur exécutif, AFM & SAG-AFTRA Fund), Benoît Machuel (Secrétaire général, FIM).
Lire la suite 

Le président de la FIM, John Smith, nommé président de PPL

John Smith, FIM PresidentJohn Smith, Secrétaire général du syndicat britannique des musiciens (MU) et président de la Fédération Internationale des Musiciens (FIM), prendra la succession de Fran Nevrkla OBE comme président de PPL (poste à temps partiel) le 1er janvier 2016. Fran Nevrkla quittera ses fonctions à la fin de 2015 après quinze années passées au sein de cette entreprise.

Durant ses quarante ans de carrière dans la filière musicale, John a travaillé pour PPL de nombreuses années. En 2006, il a joué un rôle clé dans la fusion réussie de PAMRA (Performing Artists’ Media Rights Association) et AURA (Association of United Recording Artists) avec PPL, formant ainsi l’une des organisations de gestion collective les plus brillantes et efficaces au monde.
Lire la suite 

La FIM salue la mémoire de Danny Longstaff

C’est avec une grande émotion et une profonde tristesse que nous avons appris la disparition soudaine de notre collègue et ami Danny Longstaff, dans la nuit du 1er au 2 avril 2015.

Danny travaillait pour le syndicat britannique des musiciens (BMU) en tant que Orchestras Official. Il avait été deuxième trombone de l’Orchestre symphonique de Birmingham de 1992 à 2000.

Fervent soutien de la FIM, il a participé à de nombreuses réunions et congrès de notre fédération en tant que représentant du BMU, nous apportant à chaque fois son expérience, son professionnalisme et son enthousiasme.
Lire la suite 

Royaume-Uni | 120e anniversaire du syndicat des musiciens

Lors de sa conférence biennale des 23 et 24 juillet 2013, le syndicat des musiciens du Royaume-Uni a célébré à Manchester, lieu de sa création en 1893, son 120e anniversaire. Cet événement particulièrement brillant a été l’occasion, pour le plus grand syndicat européen de musiciens (plus de 30 000 membres), de dénoncer à nouveau le désengagement radical du gouvernement britannique de toutes ses missions à caractère culturel et ses effets dévastateurs sur la vie musicale du pays. Cette régression culturelle historique est décrite avec une grande acuité par le site http://www.lost-arts.org.
Lire la suite 

20e Congrès de la FIM (3-5 octobre 2012)

Le 20e Congrès de la FIM s’est clos le 5 octobre 2012 après 3 jours de débats denses et constructifs qui ont permis l’adoption de 33 résolutions portant sur des sujets aussi fondamentaux que la relation de travail, la santé, les droits de propriété intellectuelle et les revenus générés par ces droits dans l’univers numérique, les contrats, l’éducation musicale ou la liberté d’expression.

Une préoccupation majeure exprimée durant le congrès concerne le faible niveau des revenus perçus par les musiciens lorsque leurs interprétations enregistrées font l’objet d’une exploitation en ligne, que ce soit dans le cadre d’un droit exclusif (cédé ou non) ou d’un droit à rémunération.
Lire la suite 

Diversité accrue dans les instances dirigeantes de la FIM

Le 20e Congrès de la FIM place le renouvellement de ses instances sous le signe de la diversité. Réuni à Buenos Aires du 3 au 5 octobre 2012, le Congrès de la FIM a notamment élu à la vice-présidence de la fédération des représentants d’Afrique (Roméo Dika, Cameroun) et d’Amérique latine (Déborah Cheyne Prates, Brésil). Le comité exécutif s’ouvre en outre à la région Asie-Pacifique (Australie et Inde) et accroît la présence des pays émergents ou en développement (Ghana, Bulgarie), deux nouveaux sièges sur les 6 nouvellement créés allant à l’Europe du Nord et du Sud (Norvège et Italie).
Lire la suite 

Pin It on Pinterest

To the memory of my friend Abiadé Adéwusi

Abiadé Adewusi (Togo)

Passed away on Saturday 1 July 2017, Abiadé Adewusi, President of SARIAC (Togo), played a key role in founding the FIM African group in 1997

By Roméo Dika, FIM Vice-President

During the WIPO seminar organised in Lomé in 1997, helping train our new and inexperienced organisations in many fields which were of interest to corporation, Jean Vincent, then FIM General Secretary, proposed that African associative and union organisations belong to FIM.

While the other Africans turned away from this proposal, Abiadé Adewusi brought together Mamadou Barry and Ryad Challoub from Guinea, Ismael Lo from Senegal, Valen Guédé from the Ivory Coast and myself for Cameroon in a restaurant.
Read more 

21st FIM Congress

21st Congress

FIM’s 21st Congress took place in Reykjavik from 7 to 9 June 2016, hosted by our member union FIH, in the superb Harpa Congress Centre.

Speakers and panels

Opened by a warmly applauded speech by Mr. Illugi Gunnarsson, Icelandic Minister of Education and Culture, the Congress was followed by debates on motions as well as three panels respectively focusing on

The notion of well-​being in a performing musician’s career
• Mrs Dianne Widdison (BMU, United Kingdom)
• Mrs Christine Thomassen (MFO, Norway)
• Mr Jean-​Marc Vogt (DOV, Germany)
• Kari Árnason (FIH, Iceland)

Gender equality in musicians’ unions and at sector level
• Mrs Déborah Cheyne (SINDMUSI, Brazil)
• Mr Daniel Gomes (AMS, Senegal)
• Mrs Silja Fischer (CIM)
• Mr Thomas Bjelkerud (SMF, Sweden)
Moderator: Anders Laursen (DMF, Denmark)

Music streaming and the issue of absence of online income for musicians
• Dr Pál Tomori (MZTSZ, Hungary)
• Mrs Geidy Lung, Senior Counsellor, Copyright Division of WIPO
• Mr Marc Slyper (SNAM, France)
• Mr Jan Granvik (SMF, Sweden)
• Mr Horace Trubridge (BMU, United Kingdom)
• Mr Bruce Fife (AFM, United States)
Moderator: Beat Santschi (SMV, Switzerland)

We were honoured and pleased to have the following guests take part as speakers:
• Mrs Ferne Downey (Canada), President of FIA
• Mrs Geidy Lung, Senior Counsellor, Copyright Division of WIPO
• Mr Samuel Shu Masuyama (Japan), CPRA-​Geidankyo
• Mr David Jandrisch (Canada), President of MROC
• Mr Peter Leathem (Royaume-​Uni), CEO of PPL
• Mrs Silja Fischer (CIM)

Resolutions

Among the resolutions adopted, we can mention in particular those aimed at the right of making available on demand (resolutions 10 to 13) based on the unanimous observation that performers are still excluded from income generated by the rapid growth of distribution platforms such as Spotify, Deezer or Apple Music.
Read more 

100th AFM Convention

100th AFM Convention

The 100th AFM Convention (Musicians’ Union of US and Canada) took place in Las Vegas (Nevada) from 20 to 25 June 2016.

After a curtain-​raising, high-​flying music evening on 19 June (The Quebe Sisters Band, The Las Vegas Jazz Connection with Tom Bones Malone, Dan Higgins, Marvin Stamm) in the presence of Bennie Thompson (Congress member), the convention gave the floor to several speakers, in particular David White (Executive Director, SAG-​AFTRA), Kate Shindle (President, Actors’ Equity), Mike Huppe (President and CEO, SoundExchange), Dan Beck (Music Performance Trust Fund), Dennis Dreith (Executive Director, AFM & SAG-​AFTRA Fund), Benoît Machuel (General Secretary, FIM).
Read more 

FIM President John Smith announced as new Chairman of PPL

John Smith, FIM President

John Smith, General Secretary of the Musicians’ Union (MU) and President of the International Federation of Musicians (FIM), will succeed Fran Nevrkla OBE as Chairman of PPL (which is a part-​time position) on 1 January 2016. Fran Nevrkla will retire at the end of 2015 following 15 years with the company.

With a career spanning 40 years in the music industry, John has worked with PPL for many years. In 2006 he was a key player in achieving the successful merger of PAMRA (Performing Artists’ Media Rights Association) and AURA (Association of United Recording Artists) into PPL to form one of the world’s most successful and efficient Collective Management Organisations (CMOs).
Read more 

FIM salutes the memory of Danny Longstaff

It is with great emotion and deep sadness that we have learned of the sudden demise of our colleague and friend Danny Longstaff, in the night of the 1 to 2 April 2015.

Danny worked for the British Musicians’ Union (BMU) as Orchestras Official. He had been second trombone to the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra from 1992 to 2000.

A fervent supporter of FIM, he took part in many of our Federation’s meetings and congresses as BMU representative, each time providing his experience, professionalism and enthusiasm.
Read more 

United Kingdom | Musicians’ union’s 120th anniversary

During its biennial conference on the 23 and 24 July 2013, the British Musicians’ Union (BMU) celebrated its 120th anniversary in Manchester, where it was created in 1893. This particularly brilliant event was an opportunity, for Europe’s largest musicians’ union with over 30,000 members, to denounce once more the British government’s radical disengagement from all its missions of a cultural character and its devastating effects on musical life in the country. This historic cultural regression is astutely described on the http://​www​.lost​-arts​.org website.
Read more 

20th FIM Congress (Oct. 3 – 5, 2012)

FIM’s 20th Congress drew to a close on the 5 October 2012 after 3 days of intense and constructive debates which led to the adoption of 33 resolutions covering issues as fundamental as working relationships, health, intellectual property rights and income generated by such rights against the digital backdrop, contracts, music education, public policies in the field of culture or freedom of expression.

A major concern expressed during congress was the low level of income received by musicians from their recorded performances when these were exploited online, whether this be within the framework of an exclusive right (whether transferred or not) or a right to remuneration.
Read more 

Enhanced diversity in FIM’s governing bodies

FIM’s 20th Congress decided on the renewal of its governing bodies with diversity as the key word. Taking place in Buenos Aires from the 3 to 5 October 2012, the FIM Congress in particular elected representatives from Africa (Romeo Dika, Cameroon) and Latin America (Deborah Cheyne Prates, Brazil) to the Federation’s Vice-​Presidency. The Executive Committee has also opened out to the Asia-​Pacific region (Australia and India) and increased the presence of emerging or developing countries (Ghana, Bulgaria). Two new seats out of the recently created 6 go to Northern and Southern Europe (Norway and Italy).
Read more 

Pin It on Pinterest